I think it is about time for another “favorite places” blog, don’t you? I have lots of favorite spots in Hollywood but this one, in particular, is long overdue for a little blogger’s love. We eat here often and every time we do I think to myself, “I have GOT to write about how much I love this place!” But you all should know by now how easily distracted I am. So here it is, a little shout-out to Crazy Rock’N Sushi.

Now, I’m new to sushi and I’m still a little tentative in my exploration but the thing I love about Crazy Rock’N is that I can try new things without it costing me a fortune. They have 50% off Happy Hour everyday all day after Noon which applies to a sizeable portion of their menu. This makes it SUPER affordable and makes me more willing to venture out and try new things. I do have my favorites, however, and do tend to order the same thing every time!

When Eddie and I go, just the two of us, we can usually get out of there at $20-$30, depending on how hungry we are and whether or not we order beer. We always get the Edamame to start, which is the only reason I even started going to sushi restaurants in the first place, and Eddie usually orders a miso soup. I started out just eating vegetable rolls as a way to find something I could eat when all of our friends wanted to do sushi and even now I will order the Vegetable roll most of the time. I just love it! Then, Eddie will order one of his favorites, like a Philadelphia Roll or Baked Salmon Roll. Sometimes we will mix it up and order something totally new to try and we are rarely disappointed at this spot. The one roll, however, that we always order and that we have not yet been able to top is the Gold Crunch Roll. Oh my gosh! My mouth waters just thinking about it! A crispy tempura shrimp, cucumber, avocado, and crab roll that is then rolled in crunchy tempura goodness and drizzled with eel sauce. So good, every time!

Gold Crunch Roll (with a Philadelphia roll in the background)

Crazy Rock’N is usually pretty busy and we most often have to wait a bit for a table but we don’t mind. If you can avoid peak rush hour times and the weekends, you won’t have to wait more than 15 minutes. But for half price sushi, it’s worth the wait if you have the time!

Last night, Eddie and I rode our bikes there because we both had GREAT parking near the apartment which meant we wouldn’t have to wake up early on our day off to move the cars (yes, this is another reality of living in Hollywood) but it was such a fun and easy ride. It made the night that much more of an adventure (plus it felt more like a date…don’t tell Eddie I said that)! I love being able to ride my bike around town, to all my favorite spots!

It’s easy to find parking for these beauties!

