When I started planning my girlfriend Nicole’s baby shower with 3 of her other lady friends, I tried to act as nonchalant as possible when asking about the cake situation. See, I wanted to volunteer my help without squashing anyone else’s possible plans and without revealing how much I REALLY wanted to do the baking myself. I couldn’t let them know that I would have been CRUSHED if I hadn’t been allowed to make cupcakes! And when it was finally decided that I would take charge of this important aspect of the shower, I casually agreed while somewhere deep in my heart I was doing summersaults and screaming for joy!

I spent lots of time scouring my foodgawker page and searching for the perfect recipe, something fun and different but still super delicious. Finally, it came to me! Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes! I knew Nicole would love them and there were lots of inspiring recipes to be found. In the end, it was the recipe from Tidy Mom that won me over.

I have a suspicious feeling that I will have a new favorite cupcake recipe every time that I try something new because THIS IS THE BEST CUPCAKE RECIPE EVER! I know, I said that after I made my Irish Car Bomb cupcakes but, man! These Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes are out of this world and I was blown away by how much they actually tasted like cookie dough!

The process

I followed the recipe almost exactly as written, with only one exception. I added a little extra vanilla extract to the frosting (to taste) in order to cut the flavor of the condensed milk. It worked perfectly! I ended up with about half of the frosting and filling left over but I don’t think that I would use any more than I did, it was just the perfect amount of sweet as it turned out. Looks like I’m going to have to make another batch of cupcakes for someone this week!

My makeshift display at the shower

I was really happy with the way they turned out and they were a big hit at the shower! I won’t admit to the number of cupcakes I ate myself this weekend but let’s just say I’m afraid of what this baking hobby of mine is going to turn me into! But hey! I work out, right?

