My mom would be so proud (or maybe just totally irritated, I can’t decide which)! As a kid, I was one of the pickiest eaters ON THE PLANET!! Okay, that may be a bit of an exaggeration, because I did eat, but it is closer to the truth than I would like to admit. I didn’t like sauces or condiments of any kind. No mayo, no mustard, no ketchup, no ranch dressing…gross! I ate my hot dogs plain, my cheeseburgers plain, my salads DRY, and I preferred my veggies raw and crispy. There were so many things I “didn’t like” and never wanted to try, I must have been a real pain in the “you-know-what”!

This carried on way too long into my young adulthood. I would like to say that I am completely recovered now and have reached a point in my life where I will try anything, but this is still not quite the case (I still prefer my hot dogs plain and don’t even talk to me about ketchup or mustard). HOWEVER, I have jumped a lot of hurtles in this battle with food and my eating habits have become much more mature (if I do say so myself).  Well…at least I can say I am more willing to try new things!

It has really only been in the last year or so that I have made the biggest strides conquering my food fears and I think it is directly related to my own adventures in the kitchen. The more I explore and take risks in my own kitchen, the more adventurous I become in other peoples kitchens. That and just the feeling of not wanting to be RUDE!

There are countless things my mom made when we were growing up that I would never touch. Recipes I wrote off as “things I didn’t like” and therefore never ate. Most of these dinners I hadn’t even tried in the first place but, once I got it into my head that I didn’t like them, it was over before it ever started. So when I tell her that I made Stuffed Pepper last night for dinner, she may freak out a little bit! I would never eat her Stuffed Peppers and to this day I don’t even know how she makes them! But Eddie came home with like 10 bell peppers the other day and I was trying to find a way to use them all before they go bad. So I thought, “What the heck?”

Yummmm

I didn’t really use or follow any recipe, I just worked with what I had and what I thought would taste good.  So here’s what I did. I cooked some couscous (another thing I never ate until recently) and then in another pan I fried up some turkey sausage, diced tomatillos, and crushed red peppers. I then mixed the couscous with the sausage mixture in a bowl and added half a can of yellow corn and half a can of some jalapeño black beans. I took my cored and halved bell peppers and placed a chunk of mozzarella cheese in the bottom before spooning my mixture into them. I placed the newly stuffed peppers in an oven pan before filling them to overflowing and sprinkling them with shredded cheddar cheese, oregano, salt, and pepper. Lastly, I slid them in the oven and cooked them at 400˚F for about 25 minutes.

They were delicious and so filling! One half of a large pepper was more than enough for dinner and it’s a good thing too because I had 2 unexpected, but very handsome, extra mouths to feed. Good food and good friends, two of my favorite things!

