Check out my loot!

Sometimes it’s the small things in life that bring me joy and make everything else seem somehow worthwhile. Laugh at me all you want but free toothpaste is one of those things. As a coupon shopper, saving money on things you actually need is such a thrill. But with toothpaste I don’t just get it at a good price, I get it for FREE! Yes, that’s right my friends. I will never again pay anything for a tube of toothpaste as long as I am clipping coupons. You might be thinking, “What is she talking about? She must be crazy! What’s the catch?” And I will say back to you with a chuckle, “It’s true, I’m not crazy!” How do I accomplish such a feat? I will share with you my secret…

If you already coupon shop, you know how this goes. But for my less fortunate friends who have not yet experienced the joy that is “extreme couponing” let me share. One very common coupon that you can find in the Sunday paper circular is a toothpaste coupon.  A couple of weeks ago, I clipped out a coupon for 50¢ off Colgate toothpaste plus one for 40¢ off a Colgate toothbrush. Because I get 2 copies of the weekly circulars, I got 2 of each coupon. I filed them away in my coupon box (yes, there is a box involved). Then I waited for the sale I knew would come because it always does: Colgate toothpaste and toothbrushes 10 for $10. Woohoo! I know what you are thinking, “But you said the toothpaste was free!” Well, you haven’t let me finish! Because Ralphs and Vons/Pavilions double coupons up to $1.00, my coupons were worth $1.00 and 80¢ respectively. So, I received 2 tubes of toothpaste for FREE and 2 toothbrushes for 20¢ each. I know, it doesn’t sound real but it IS!

I have a whole stockpile of toothpaste that I didn’t have to pay for. Do I need 10 tubes of toothpaste at once? No, but it’s free. I’m not just going to walk away from that! Worst case scenario, I can share my toothpaste with my friends and none of us will ever have to pay for it EVER AGAIN!!!

You’re Welcome.

