I love cooking for my friends! Having everyone over to my place to enjoy some drinks and a good meal is honestly one of my favorite ways to spend an evening. The more, the merrier! And there is never any shortage of food…I tend to “over-cook” (not in the burnt food kind of way).  The way I see it, I would rather have leftovers than run out of something because an extra person shows up. Trust me… there is almost always an extra person. Especially when your “planning” involves calling your friends at around 5pm that day and saying, “Wanna come over for dinner tonight?”

This past Friday night was one of these perfectly impromptu nights. I told everyone, “Come over, I’m going to cook something!” And they came, and we ate.

Nothing fancy!

I had some shredded chicken left over from the night before and decided to make Chicken Taquitos. So easy! Just roll the chicken in some tortillas and fry. Sometimes I like to mix in a green chili sauce or some cheese with the chicken before stuffing the tortilla. I made a little rice to go with it (authentic Mexican style with Mama Ruiz’s recipe) while Eddie handled the homemade salsa and guacamole. 

Now all we needed were the chips!

There is nothing better than homemade tortilla trips.  They take time and can be a little messy but it’s totally worth it! Heat just enough oil in a pan to cover the tortillas and cut up your “chips” while you wait for the oil.  It has to be hot! 

Fry them until they are perfectly golden brown and then cool them on a paper towel lined plate.

Salt to taste and you are done! Simply delicious!

The only bad news?

We didn’t have any leftovers!

