One of the blessings (or curses, depending on how I am feeling on any given day) of being an actress in LA is that you never know where your day is going to take you.  Not only is acting unpredictable but I work more than one job in which I am “on-call”.  There is never any guarantee that what you have planned for any particular day will actually come to pass.  You may think you have an ordinary day in store, but there is almost always a surprise, an interruption, or a disappointment on the horizon.  We take “living in the moment” very seriously… and quite literally.  This can be very annoying to the people around us who like to make plans and schedule events and mark things on calendars!  (Let’s not even get started on what a mess this can make of the holidays!)  It is not that we are inherently flaky or indecisive; it is simply that we, literally, never know what might come up.

Today, I went to work, barely awake and functioning, at 7:30am.  In my mind, I knew what stretched out in front of me.  I would arrive at work, were I substitute teach, at exactly 8:00am.  Not a minute early, but maybe a minute late.  I would walk into the math room that I have been temporarily calling my own to find the sleepy eyes of a handful of students waiting for guidance on their homework.  I would spend the whole day tutoring and teaching math, with an hour long lunch break where I would eat my sack lunch of leftovers.  I would come home to my puppy at 4:30pm, take her for a walk, make some dinner (my favorite pasta salad), and maybe hit the gym afterwards.  I had it all worked out!

Cue the 12:51pm phone call from my agent.  I have an audition today? At 5:45pm? Perfect.  This sends me spiraling into a complicated problem-solving scenario in which I need to finish work at 4:00pm, rush home from Sylmar to “fix my face” (because Lord knows I do not go to work “audition-ready” on a regular basis), change my clothes, take a look at my audition sides, grab that stupid headshot and resume (yes, I know I should have extras in my car, but I don’t!), and probably take my dog out to pee before I hit the road to Valley Village.  I hope my car still has gas!!

Of course, everything worked out fine.  I made it to my audition, on-time and looking sharp, well…except when my coat got caught in the chair as I stood to head into the room…but other than that, everything was great!  I still made my pasta salad for dinner, just a little bit later than I originally planned (someday I will share my super easy recipe, if you can even call it a recipe).  Oh, and I didn’t make it to the gym…ok, I still had time to go to the gym but I just didn’t want to!  I was tired!

I guess what I’m trying to say is, be flexible!  I have to be.  I can’t do what I do and not be flexible.  I work multiple jobs just to support my career!  Plans change, things come up, life moves on, and everything usually works out in spite of it all.  It reminds me of that saying, “If you want to make God laugh…Tell Him Your Plans!”

Oh yea, and don’t get mad at me if I cancel our date or we never do get a chance to schedule that drink!  I’m working on it! 😉

