My alarm went off this morning at 6:45am.  The reason why I had to be up at such an UNGODLY hour on a Saturday is another aspect of my life which I will talk about some other time.  But when that alarm started honking and I reached over to hit the snooze button, as I always do, I heard the sound of rain coming down outside my window.  Not just a little bit of rain but A LOT of rain!  Of course, being the California girl that I am, my first thought was, “Oh great! There go ALL my plans for the day!”

With a hot English breakfast tea in my hand, I was on the road and headed to work by 7:15am.  (Seriously?! This should not happen…EVER!)  You can see by this timeline how little time I give myself in the morning to get ready in order to maximize my sleeping time.  I coasted at a mild 55mph on the freeway, both hands on the wheel, certain that at any moment I would skid out of control and end up stuck in the rain on the side of the freeway.  I drove past an accident on the other side of the freeway, where I saw what looked like the remnants of a car fire and another car completely turned over on its roof.  That’s reassuring!  The whole city of Sylmar seemed to be flooded and I drove through intersections of water saying silent prayers that I would make it to the other side.

Hard to believe that just a few hours later, the sun was shining on yet another beautiful Hollywood afternoon.  If not for the damp sidewalks and streets, one would never have guessed how the day had started.  By 1:30pm, Nina and I were headed up the trail to the Hollywood sign and I was already breaking a sweat under my Cal Poly Pomona sweatshirt (the irony is not lost on me here).  My sunglasses were steaming up as Nina ran through puddles and played in the mud.  I didn’t mind the dirty playtime because I knew she was getting a bath when we got home.  When we reached the top, we sat for a moment to enjoy the view and the cool breeze.

This is the best way to enjoy a rainy day!

The Hollywood Sign

